April 5 2013

Poem # 5 Spoken word poetry

Have you ever heard of spoken word poetry? It’s poetry that’s meant to be read aloud. Here’s a video with a poem called Plan B by Sarah Kay. Sarah also talks about what spoken word poetry is and how you can write and perform it. Take a few minutes and watch this. I’d love to see and hear your spoken word poetry!

Here’s another poem with Sarah and her friend Phil. This poem is about how they met.

 

I wonder…what kind of spoken word poetry would you write? Would you perform it? What do you think of spoken word poetry? Would you like to see more? Would you like to try this in class?

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted April 5, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category National Poetry Month, Phil Kaye, Sarah Kay, spoken word poetry

6 thoughts on “Poem # 5 Spoken word poetry

  1. Rebekah

    Wow! That second video was crazy! How can they not be related but have the same last name, opposite names for siblings. CRAZY!!!! They must have a lot of people ask them if their cousins or sibling etc.
    Well otherwise i thought the first video was amazing i loved her poem same with the second.

  2. Paravi

    Haley and I wanted to do spoken word poetry together. We have no clue what to do but I said that IT MUST INCLUDE THE ROBOT!!!!!😛

  3. Paravi

    I would LOVE to do that in front of he class but I don’t think Haley and I would have time! I wish that we could hav a whole block (English) spent on writing the poetry and then coming up with a cool way to show it to the class! Oops, my mom is calling me, gotta to!😃😀😄😊😛😝😝😛😜😃😄😀😊

  4. MS

    Since I didn’t comment yesterday, here’s my “I wish” poem.

    I wish you were a paintbrush,
    Painting my thoughts and feelings.
    Helping me talk without speaking.
    Expressing more than any speech can say.

    They say a picture is worth a thousand words.
    You can help me make one worth more than that.
    You speak my mind without using those precious words.
    This way they will not be wasted.

    You are like a camera.
    Capturing anything and everything
    And saving it forever.
    My very best friend,
    the mighty paintbrush.

  5. Lipika

    The spoken word poetry was very cool. I am probably going to do it with MS. I can’t to do it. I love spoken word poetry know. Espically when I saaw Sarah and phil do theirs. They were very good!!!!!! I love theirs. It know makes me actually want me to do it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*