March 23 2015

Books that I Carry in My Heart #22

Reading Quote
Here is my  slice for the March Slice of Life Challenge on Two Writing Teachers.

I’ve read a few blog posts in the past week about favorite book lists. Katherine Sokolowski borrowed the idea from Brian Wyzlic who borrowed the idea from Colby Sharp. I’ve been thinking about this list. They are calling it the Six-Star Top Ten List. Hmmm…too many numbers. Too confusing for me. I’m going to call my list: Books I Carry in My Heart. 


I like the idea of keeping this list! These are the books that changed me. The books that I couldn’t stop thinking about when I finished. The books that helped make me the person that I am.

What kind of books? Middle school books? Picture books? Fiction? Nonfiction? Should I make a list for school and a separate list for me? Should it be one list? I do want an annotated list. Give a context to why your book is on the list. Tell the story. 

Here’s are some titles that I am considering for my list: 

‘Twas the Night Before Christmas
Anne of Green Gables, LM Montgomery
Emily of New Moon, LM Montgomery
Harriet the Spy, Louise Fitzhugh
A Long Walk to Water, Linda Sue Park
Out of My Mind, Sharon Draper


Final for now…the best thing about books is that they change as you change. I look forward to revisiting this list, as the years go on, and seeing which books stand the test of time.

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 23, 2015 by Ms. Haseltine in category #SOLC

1 thoughts on “Books that I Carry in My Heart #22

  1. Flying_Panda

    Wow. I love that quote. That describes a feeling that I thought words couldn’t cover. It still doesn’t but this ia about as close as you can get.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*