September 5 2012

The Case of the Classroom Clock

During first block today, I noticed a strange occurrence. There was a clock hanging on the back wall.

clock

When did this clock appear?

As I sat up front and monitored the class working on finishing up some assignments, I gasped, “Where did that clock come from?” Abigayle looked at me with a puzzled expression and asked, “What do you mean?” I explained how that clock hasn’t worked for the past two years. Earlier this year, I tried unsuccessfully to get it repaired again. Instead of fixing it, someone decides to put new batteries in and within two hours it’s stopped again. So I did what I did last year, I took it off the wall and hid it. This year, I hid it on top of the wardrobe under a beach ball and papers. “Oh, I know! I bet someone replaced it. The broken one is probably still back there.” I stepped to the wardrobe and…the clock was GONE!  What happened? I couldn’t figure it out. It’s the case of the classroom clock.

In other news, we are getting into Out of My Mind. This is our read aloud by Sharon Draper. It’s the third year in a row I’ve read this book aloud. Melody is the main character and narrator of the story. She’s one of my all time favorite characters because of her strength and sense of humor and her perseverance. I can’t wait for the students to meet other characters like Mrs. V and Dr. Hugely!

Thank you for continuing to read the blog!

P.S. I spoke to Mrs. O’Brien after school (She teaches Language Arts in Room C8.) and I was telling her about the clock. I noticed her clock was not working. She said it was working yesterday. Hmmm, do you think someone switched our clocks? Can you solve the case of the classroom clock?


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted September 5, 2012 by Ms. Haseltine in category My writing, Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “The Case of the Classroom Clock

  1. Mrs. O'Brien

    I think the broken clock grew legs, climbed down from the wardrobe, walked out of room C-10, walked into room C-8, jumped onto the couch, bounced for awhile to garner height, and then, aimed straight for the nail above the bulletin board.
    And now it hangs on my wall to confuse me and the poor SAMS teachers who have no idea what time class ends now.
    According to the clock, my last block started at 6 p.m. today.
    I don’t know what to do. If I take it down and hide it, maybe my old, working clock will come back home.
    =)

  2. Lauren

    my hypothesis is the clock is cursed or ALIVE!!!!!! Get out of there as soon as possible and take a shower to make sure your not infected.

  3. Riley

    What happpened to the clock I think was the janitor found it got a new one and threw away the old one.

    This is a very nice blog. I am one of her students and she inspired me to start my own blog and it is called tipsandlaghs.wordpress.com. Mrs. Hasletine is one of my favorite teachers. I really love to write in her class!!!!!!!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*