April 3 2013

Poem #3 Too Much

Here’s an original poem. It’s a list poem and a quickly written first draft. There’s a lot of emotion on this poem. What do you think? Can you guess how I’m feeling? What was happening? What do you think it means? (Use lines from the poem to support your ideas.) 

 

Nerves-
on edge
stomach clenching
aching head
tense muscles-
Breaking point
 
There’s too much…
TOO MANY SOUNDS
TOO MANY WORDS
TOO MANY IDEAS
TOO MUCH
TOO MUCH
TOO MUCH
Ahhhhhhh!!
 
SILENCE.
 
Shhhh!
quiet
relax
focus
think
breathe-
 
shoulders loosening
stomach calming
head quieting
smile returning
Whew…
 

 

Writing always makes me feel better. Has there ever been a time when you’ve felt emotions strongly? Feel free to leave an original poem of your own in the comments. 

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted April 3, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category National Poetry Month

11 thoughts on “Poem #3 Too Much

  1. Kiara

    I think the first stanzas mean what is going on in your head during a brain dump. The second part is when you finished how your..
    2ND
    Silence
    think
    breath
    shoulder loosening
    head quieting

    1ST
    TOO much ideas
    TOO much words

  2. Rebekah

    I think it is when you have so much in your brain. That you just have to calm yourself down! Suggestion WRITE!
    I am scared for tomorrow we are to have a sub and i don’t want certain people in my class to ruin are seating arrangement. But i have to trust that they will behave appropriately. So i will be calm and trust them. :/ NERVOUS TO TRUST!!!!!!!!

  3. Caitlin

    I know that feeling it’s really annoying when you get that feeling and you think your head is going to explode.

  4. MS

    Was this what you were talking about today in English, Ms. Haseltine? I’ve had lots of those days.

    Here’s a poem written by me:

    Now.
    Now is the time to shine.
    Now is the time to enjoy.
    Now is the time to live.
    Now is the time to grow.
    Now is the time to change.
    Now is the time to improve.
    Now is the time to embrace life.

    Hope you liked it!!

  5. Paravi

    Writing keeps us tied together,
    “PB and J” will last forever,
    Everything is better when I see your face,
    We’re like Sherlock and Homes solving a case,
    Hand in hand across the states,
    I remember when we left and I said “Lates!”
    We write and Skype,
    We text and type,
    Like PB and J we stick together,
    We are Best Friends, forever and ever.

    I hope you like it Ms. Haseltine! This poem is about my BFF Sami in Ohio!

  6. Paravi

    I think you were frustrated with something or someone, most likely our class😋. You wanted peace and quiet. But, we kept talking and talking and talking and…well, you get the idea. I have proof of this because of these lines:TOO MANY SOUNDS! TOO MANY WORDS!
    And these: Slilence. SHH quiet relax. 😴

  7. Grace

    Today is a sad day for me, because exactly 2 years ago, my BFFL moved to Texas. I miss her so much!! Here’s a poem about her.

    BFFLs
    Best Friends For Life
    Always there for me
    Trustworthy
    Every afternoon was spent at my house
    Our obsession with Zhu Zhu pets
    Us trading stuffed animals for a day
    Our plays that never happened
    But were fun anyways
    The secrets we shared
    Our memory book
    Her creative ideas
    The cardboard box that was a hotel to us
    The game we played every Halloween
    And then,
    One fateful day,
    April 4, 2011
    She said goodbye to me in the morning
    We were almost in tears
    (Her mom already was)
    I really miss her
    But I also hated starting middle school without her
    We had planned that since 1st grade
    I miss all the things I can never do with her
    And all the things I went through without her
    But we will always have
    The phone calls
    that are still not enough

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*