June 28 2012

Day three reflection

quote

Have I mentioned that the bathroom walls (and in each stall) are plastered with reading quotes? Here’s a picture of one. The quotes change each day! I know, such a small thing, but it makes me smile every time I go to the bathroom!

These are long days. Thank goodness they are filled with invigorating presentations and inspiring books. The line up for today included three picture book authors. Daniel Kirk, Bob Shea, and Melinda Long. I continue to be amazed at the authors; each one presents a completely different point of view. Some of the elements are the same, they all share the same profession, but their paths are as different and varied as their books.

Daniel Kirk and Melinda Long both began writing at an early age. The path seemed clear to them. Melinda was a teacher for 23 years and wrote during all of them. That surprised me. It must be challenging to write and teach at the same time. I love how Melinda took her books and gave us potential lesson ideas. I appreciated that very much. (Side note, I emailed her asking for something and she already emailed me back. I LOVE THAT! My experience is many people who promise that do not follow through. I’m impressed.)

Bob Shea was admittedly someone I’d never heard of before, but now he is someone I’ll never forget. He has a sharp sense of humor and an amazing presenting ability. I enjoyed every last second with him. His books are simple and funny! I swore yesterday morning that today would be the day I would NOT buy any more books. Well he ruined that for me! I bought two of his books. I love Big Plans and I can see using that with my sixth graders. Choral reading is something I do and I’d like to do more of in the future. His book and the humor will help that. My plan is to try and do just what he did with the book, understanding I can’t be him, but bringing all my enthusiasm to it. There’s more, much more, to be done with that book. I’m looking forward to getting it into my hands to make some of my own, “BIG PLANS!”

Class this afternoon gave me great writing ideas! I am so grateful that Linda tells us about Flash Fiction, but then allows us to try it. It reminds me of the Northern Virginia Writing Project presentations. Actually practicing it makes it much more likely I’ll do this with my students. The urban legend idea grabbed me right away! At the end of this last school year I read aloud Skeleton Creek by Patrick Carman. It’s the book with the online videos (I highly recommend it, if you haven’t read it.) and it’s scary. I’d never read aloud scary before and my sixth graders LOVED it! They begged for more everyday. I will definitely get the urban legend books and write some urban legends of our own. I can’t wait! A million thanks for these ideas!

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted June 28, 2012 by Ms. Haseltine in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*