March 1 2017

Ten Years in the Blink of an Eye, Slice of Life Challenge #1

Ten years since we’ve talked.
Ten years since I got a hug from you.
Ten years since we went for ice cream.
Ten years since we saw each other.
Ten years since we talked and talked and talked.
Ten years since I’ve gotten advice from you.
Ten years since I’ve heard your laugh.
Ten years since we fought over who gets the last cucumber.
Ten years since I heard you say, “I love you!”


But, you are with me every day.
You are there when I succeed.
You are there when I fail.
You are there when I walk my dog.
You are there when I sing along to the radio.
You are there when I’m comforting a struggling student.
You are there when I’m writing and writing and writing.


You are there
in the tears,
in the laughter,
in the confusion,
in the joy,
in the fear,
in the wonder,
in the sorrow
in the love…
you are there.


I miss you.
Recently, a friend shared these words of comfort,
“I realized the beauty of missing someone is the
reality that you had someone special to love.” 


Yup.
That’s you…someone special to love.
You loved!
I love you, Dad!


I carry you with me
every day, but a
little closer today…
the day I lost you,
ten years ago. 



Thank you to the Two Writing Teachers for this amazing platform to write and share writing! What a wonderful community you’ve created! I’m honored to be part of it. Join us at Two Writing Teachers.


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 1, 2017 by Ms. Haseltine in category #SOLC17, slice of life challenge

3 thoughts on “Ten Years in the Blink of an Eye, Slice of Life Challenge #1

  1. erms3sophie16

    I LOVE THIS WITH ALL MY HEART I WANT TO CRY!THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS.IT IS AN AWESOME POST! THANK YOU!!!

  2. whitetiger2005

    This poem touched me and almost made me cry. This is a really good poem and it was so heart touching!

  3. erms3isha16

    MY EYES DOE RIGHT NOW THEY HUUUUURT right along with my heart. Absolutely beautiful and very well written. Love the fact that you used repetition, and I REALLY love repetition. See? I’m repeating repetition a lot.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*