January 6 2017

RISE in 2017

I wanted a synonym for “show up”. I think the act of showing up is important to a good life and I wanted a daily reminder for myself, but I didn’t want to use a phrase. When I started searching for it, I found ARISE. I like that, but I wasn’t sold. I played around with the word AWAKE for awhile, but I kept coming back to RISE.

It occurs to me that one of my favorite songs of 2016 is Katy Perry’s “Rise”.

 

The beginning of a new year is exciting, filled with potential and possibilities. Things can be different. I use this time to reflect on where I’ve been and where I’m going. I use a word to help me focus my reflection and my choices. This year my word is RISE. What do I want to accomplish with this word? What do I want RISE to help me do or be?

I want to RISE from the grasp of fear. We are all afraid of things. We all feel fear. There are times when I feel frozen in fear. It stops me. I want to RISE from the fear and simply begin. As soon as I begin, the fear dissipates.

I want to do things and RISE from the negativity. I want to show up. I want to write. I want to be a better teacher. I want to make this world a better place. This means I need to RISE to the occasion and do something.

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/rise

How will I RISE in 2017? That’s the best part… I don’t know. I want to focus on the positive. I want to develop rituals and routines in my life that help this goal. Here are a few I have planned, some are simple and some are bigger, but all are designed to guide my year…

1. Start every day with writing in my newly organized writing spot.

2. Document the year with daily pictures and post them on Instagram using the hashtag #haseltinegratitude17
3. Paint my nails.
4. Write for five minutes at the end of each school day to reflect and grow as an educator.
5. Send 3-5 cards each week to those I love.

New lamp with the sun RISING from the clouds.

 


I’m hoping that RISE will serve me well this year. What will your 2017 look like? Do you have a word or a phrase that will guide you? 

 

I can’t wait to see where this word leads me. I’ll RISE up to meet it!


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted January 6, 2017 by Ms. Haseltine in category Haseltine, OLW, RISE

2 thoughts on “RISE in 2017

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*