March 3 2016

Oh How I Love the Morning!

Click on the FROG button at the bottom of the post to read the student slices. Add comments.
HAPPY SLICING!
Ms. Haseltine’s students:

Please post a link to your slice to this post!

slice-of-life_classroom-image-black-2hr4qxx-300x200

“How you start your day is how you live your day. How you live your day is how you live your life.” ~Louise Hay

Morning is the best way to begin the day.

I’m an early bird. I like early mornings. I wake up early by myself, usually before the alarm goes off. There was a time in my life that I wasn’t like this…high school. In high school, I couldn’t drag myself out of bed. I would ignore my alarm. It was the only time that my parents struggled with getting me up and out to school. One day, my dad said, “Enough!”

I’d slept through my alarm, again, and he knocked on my door and did that “dad thing” and he yelled, “Michelle! Time to get uuuppp!”

I did the kid thing and mumbled, “…in a minute,” and I rolled back over and returned to my peaceful slumber.

This happened one more time. The next time he added, “If you aren’t up the next time I come into your room, I’m going to dump a bucket of ice cold water on you.” I heard my little sister giggling, so I pulled the covers over my head and mumbled something again.

Two minutes later, my bedroom door opened with a flourish. I was sleeping so I don’t remember much of this…all I remember is ice cubes bouncing off my forehead, followed by the whooshing of water all over me and my sister and mother laughing and laughing and laughing.

My dad stood there calmly as I leapt out of bed screaming, “WHY DID YOU DO THAT?!?! I’M SOAKED! MY BED IS SO WET!!!”

He looked at me with a smirk and calmly repeated the same words, “Michelle, it’s time to get up.” I never overslept again!


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 3, 2016 by Ms. Haseltine in category #SOLC, #SOLC16, slice of life

2 thoughts on “Oh How I Love the Morning!

  1. Janie Fahey

    Wow! I remember my dad waking me up, too. It was so different than my mom. Mom would quietly walk in and sit on the side of my bed. She would caress my hair and whisper, “Time to wake up.” My dad, on the other hand, banged on the door, swung it open and said loudly, “Get up!” Needless to say, I was in a much better mood when Mom started my day:)

  2. erms01poe

    I remember when I was an early bird! Now you have to scream in m ear to get me out of bed in the morning! My dad wakes me up by a video on YouTube of a trumpet. My mom just yells: time to get up! Which never works. I love your writing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*