May 26 2015

What Kind of Writer Am I?

slice of life
Last week, Stacey wrote a powerful post about herself as a writer. She was inspired by Terje’s post. Today I’m going to begin my answer to this question…

What kind of a writer am I?
Screenshot 2015-05-26 at 6.18.21 AM

I am the kind of writer who needs words and sentences to make sense out of life.
I am the kind of writer who feels her way through writing.
I am the kind of writer who writes daily, many times a day, for herself.
I am the kind of writer who has filled sixty-three notebooks.
I am the kind of writer who has a story to tell, but isn’t sure exactly what that story is.
I am the kind of writer who has discovered this secret…so much about writing is having faith.
I am the kind of writer who must write, even if no one else reads.
I am the kind of writer who writes too much and takes out lots during revision.
I am the kind of writer who enjoys repetition and symmetry.
I am the kind of writer who is afraid of failing as a writer.
I am the kind of writer who wants to use words to make the world a better place.
I am the kind of writer who needs just the right pen, and just the right color, and just the right font to help my writing come alive.
I am the kind of writer who loves to read mentor texts and then worries that everything has already been said.
I am the kind of writer who uses ellipses…
the interrobang?!?!
and overuses exclamation points (and doesn’t care)!!!!!!
I am the kind of writer who returns to my writing weeks, months, years later and doesn’t remember writing those words…and finds that often that’s my best writing.
I am the kind of writer who has had to work to compose digitally and appreciates the different styles of writing it creates.
I am the kind of writer who needs silence to write.
I am the kind of writer who always has my notebook with me.
I am the kind of writer who wants readers. I am the kind of writer who will continue to search for the answer to this question.
I am the kind of writer who writes to untangle my life.


Thank you, Terje and Stacey, for the inspiration!

What kind of writer are you?!?!

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted May 26, 2015 by Ms. Haseltine in category reflection, slice of life

3 thoughts on “What Kind of Writer Am I?

  1. Flying_Panda

    Hi Ms.Haseltine
    I am the kind of writer who loves to write, learns from reading, and writes from the heart.

    I loved being in your class in the past year and I can’t wait to see you next year. Even though I won’t be in your class next year I really loved sixth grade. Thank you for everything.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*