March 27 2015

Look Who Saw Our Word Clouds! #27

Today is my 27th slice for the 
March Slice of Life Challenge on Two Writing Teachers.

This is the post I shared on my other blog. I thought you might want to read it…


Earlier this week I clicked on Lee Ann’s blog to make a comment. I noticed she had created a beautiful word cloud! It was made with a site that I hadn’t heard of before, Tagul. This site is amazing. I LOVE it! You can sign in with your google account and SAVE your word clouds. The choice of shapes is broad and you can upload a photo and use that for the shape. I decided to use Tagul in school with my sixth graders.

We had been working in book club books for a couple of weeks. Our reading work consisted of following a character and paying attention to his or her traits. In class, I had the groups gather together, review their notes and the books to help them make a word cloud about their book. The results amazed me! Here are a few of them…

 
 
 
 
 
The students worked hard on their word clouds and their creativity shined through in their choices. I decided to share some of their word clouds with the authors of the books that they were reading. They ALL responded! Here’s what they said…

 

Audience is POWERFUL! Students worked hard on their word clouds with no expectations. The assignment was to create the word cloud and post it on their blog. The authors of the BOOKS they are reading saw their work and responded with such kindness! I can’t wait to share this with my students today. 


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 27, 2015 by Ms. Haseltine in category #SOLC, authors, book clubs, Tagul, twitter

4 thoughts on “Look Who Saw Our Word Clouds! #27

  1. erms01poe

    I remember when we did those in class. It was fun to just sit back and let your imagination take over you!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*