March 10 2015

Annoyed or Grateful?!?! I Pick Grateful!

Today is my 10th  slice for the March Slice of Life Challenge on Two Writing Teachers.

I like to stay positive, but I’m going to get real today. I’m going to write about things that annoy me. (It’s a great generating writing idea to do with students too!) Here’s my list of things that annoy me… they all happened on Monday!!!

 

1. Less sleep.
I know my post on Sunday was about celebrating the time change, but Monday I was TIRED. The students were TIRED. It was a slow moving day!

2. Spelling errors.
We all make mistakes. I get that. (I feel like there are many days when I make more than most!) BUT, a spelling error on a document that went out to hundreds of people! REALLY?!?! What about spell check? What about having a colleague proofread your draft?!?! This got me crazy!!!!

3. Group texts.
OK. I’m going to say it…at the risk of alienating friends and colleagues. No offense is intended, but I DESPISE group texts! With the constant replies that never seem to end. I want out. Please no more group texts. Group emails…that works. And NO group texts at night!!

OK…so I don’t leave things here on a negative note…I will counteract this list of annoying things with three things I’m grateful for on Monday…

1. I got to talk with my niece and nephew. Hearing giggles and “I love you Auntie Chelle!” is all I need to make me smile. I love hearing Jillian excited about her birthday gift and Jack telling me about his sight words and the words on his word wall!

2. Laughing with my students. The new running joke in class is my obsession with pens. They are so funny!

3. Finding exactly what I need at the store AND having that item be on sale! Kind and smiling workers. Friendly customers.

4. Ending my day with Bella cuddles and a long walk in the warm weather.

I guess…the gratitude outweighed the annoyances! 

 

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 10, 2015 by Ms. Haseltine in category #SOLC, Auntie Chelle, Bella

2 thoughts on “Annoyed or Grateful?!?! I Pick Grateful!

  1. Gia

    I am in this dance group where there are 14 people. And guess what we did? A 14 people group text. Super annoying.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*