March 1 2015

Journeys are Always Better with Friends

Today is my FIRST slice for the March Slice of Life Challenge on
Two Writing Teachers.

March 1. My world changed eight years ago on March 1st. I lost my Dad. He died months after an aneurism burst in his heart. He had a strong heart…a full heart…a heart that was big enough to show everyone he met love and compassion and acceptance and humor. Dad taught me about strength. He showed me how to work hard. Dad LIVED his life. He and I had long talks about life and school and the world. Dad thought about things. Dad SAW me. Dad loved me!  It’s fitting that the Slice of Life Challenge starts on the anniversary of his death. Dad never walked away from a challenge. I think he would like my writing about him today.

This year, I’ve invited student to slice with me. THIRTY accepted my challenge! Woo Hoo!! I can’t wait to take this journey with them. Long journeys are always better when you aren’t alone. 

Dad lived in New Mexico. I’d visit him during spring break. He would take a couple of days off from work and drive over two hundred miles up to Durango, Colorado to enjoy the hot springs. The best part of that trip was the long drive. We’d talk and talk for hours. Long journeys are better with friends and family. I’m looking forward to taking this trip with you!

IMG_0064

Dad reading a book to me.


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 1, 2015 by Ms. Haseltine in category #SOLC, family

2 thoughts on “Journeys are Always Better with Friends

  1. avicat

    This made me cry, I also am looking forward to taking this trip with you and everyone who participates in this challenge.

  2. Minahil

    This is so sweet! Be Brave, and Always Shine! Your Dad will always be with you no matter where you go, and you guys will always keep the wonderful memories you shared in your heart! I am looking forward to taking this trip with you!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*