January 6 2015

Flying in 2015

As 2015 approached, so did my seventh word of the year…or One Little Word. Previous words include: METTLE, ENGAGE, BUILD, EMBRACE, AUTHOR, and RISK.

In my seventh year choosing a word I realized that I don’t choose the word, the word really chooses me. My pondering for the OLW2015 began in October and I had really wanted INVITATION as my word. It seemed right…but alas, it didn’t stick. The days leading up to the new year, I’d settled on OPEN for my word. That was it. It felt right…until the day before. It wasn’t settling anymore. I was uneasy that I was making the wrong choice. A friend had been looking for her word and while glancing at a list I have, she mentioned FLY. As she said it I thought, “No. That’s not a good word.” The next day I was driving around town running errands and the word FLY appeared and grabbed my attention again. It felt like that was supposed to be my word.

 

Why FLY? I’m not entirely sure. That is both scary and exciting. I’m not sure where FLY will take me or why it picked me. In complete honesty, I am terrified of things that fly. I have been for as long as I can remember. I don’t want to be afraid anymore. Am I still afraid or is that a story that I’m telling myself? One goal of FLY is to face my fears. Find my love for birds and butterflies and all of the FLYing creatures.

Synonyms of FLY include soar and take off. I’m hoping that those words will impact my life this year.

FLY is not a word that appears as often as I thought it would. When I settle on a OLW, I pay closer attention for it. FLY has been harder to find, but it’s sweeter when I do find it.  

During independent reading yesterday, both of my books addressed FLYing. (I swear I didn’t pick them for this reason.) 

 

 

It feels like FLY is revealing itself to me…trying to tell me something. I’m listening…

 


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted January 6, 2015 by Ms. Haseltine in category OLW, slice of life

4 thoughts on “Flying in 2015

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*