September 22 2014

DAD: Flash Slice

Warning: This is a sad flash slice of life! I seem to want to write about sad moments in my life for this kind of writing…interesting. I wonder why?

An early morning in fifth grade, Michelle Haseltine is preparing her classroom for the day ahead. A phone call. Dad’s sick. Colorado. Get there…now. How? What about my class? My dog? My life? Friends jump into action. Hours later, she’s holding her dad’s hand in the recovery room, grateful that he’s still here. 

 


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted September 22, 2014 by Ms. Haseltine in category family, flash slice

12 thoughts on “DAD: Flash Slice

  1. Tida

    Ms. Haseltine, that was very sad, thank you for sharing. It’s scary to just leave everything behind and go to a new state. I’m glad your father is ok.

  2. SpaceMaze

    My uncle had a similar decision like you. His daughter was sick and he had the option to either stay at his job or travel back to Asia where his daughter lives. So he goes back to Asia to see his daughter.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*