November 25 2013

Different

They say, “Be yourself,
don’t be like everyone else”
They say, “Be an original”   
They say, “There’s only one you!”
 
Being different is hard.
 
I want to fit in.
I want to be like everyone else.
I want to get the inside jokes
be on the inside and not on the outside…
where it feels lonely…sad…
That’s being different…
 
Or is it?
 
If everyone was the same,
would things be easier?
Would there be cool kids & nerds?
Would there be bullies?
 
But…
no one
would be different.
 
When you’re different…
people judge you
people laugh at you
people make fun of you
 
until,
they don’t
 
Until,
they appreciate you
they admire you
they celebrate you
they envy you
 
I believe…
that everyone is different
and
everyone wants to be different
 
I believe…
it’s the brave ones
who show the world that they’re
different

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted November 25, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category Haseltine 2

5 thoughts on “Different

  1. Guinealuver

    aw, I wish I were there for PAT time and teaching other kids how to go onto there blogs!! *Of course the day that I’m not here I want to be here doing fun things!:(*** But I’m already at New York!! (I will be checking on vision for homework!:))!!!!

  2. LInda Baie

    Your teacher shared this site with me, and I wanted to say how much I enjoyed this poem and the truth in it. It’s hard to feel different, and perhaps harder to feel comfortable with it, yet people do feel good ‘as they are’, and it would be great to applaud them for that, wouldn’t it? Thanks for making me think about this through your words!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*