September 17 2013

Writing

Yesterday we talked about finding a good place to write at home. Has everyone found their spot? Today I’d like to know where you get your ideas when you write? Do you struggle to think of ideas or do ideas come easily to you? Some writers spend lots of time planning and prewriting before they begin drafting and others leap into the writing with little planning. Which kind of writer are you? Why does that work for you?

Me? It depends on what I’m writing. If I’m writing in my notebook or writing a poem, a blog post, or a shorter piece of writing; I jump in and start writing and lots of my real work begins when I revise. If I need to write a longer piece of writing like a memoir or a story, I try to make some plans. My planning consists of making lots of lists!

Me as a writer

Me as a writer

Sometimes I sketch a picture or make a timeline to help me visualize what is going to happen in the story.

Sketch of setting of new memoir

Sketch of setting of new memoir

How about you? What kind of writer are you?

Tags: , ,
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted September 17, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category writing notebooks

39 thoughts on “Writing

  1. Leafpond

    I’m not really a writer, but I do like to write in my direy. And I like to read in front of a pond with lots of animals out.

  2. lexibug

    Perfect kind of method of figuring out a story. So many ideas to spread out and figure out its amazing way to start a story off. AMAZING METHOD

  3. jenna

    I like to write about exciting stories. stories with action because when i read an action story I cant stop reading. It makes me feel like i’m apart of the story so that’s what I like to write and read about.

  4. Peter

    I really don`t have a writing have a writing place really , the place I go to is my room. I like your creation on the map you made.

  5. lila

    I love to draw. so ill draw for fun and then ill go back to look at it and ill think to my self this would be a cool story. i also like to to make up fiction stories. one time in took the movie shreck and i made my own twist to it.

  6. Hazel

    I like drawing the characters out, and writing about them. I also use clothes to describe their personality. Like, for Example in one of my books, called My Tail, the supporting Character, Marina, wears red and black, describing her firery, competitive personality. I also use hairstyles, and expresions, to match the characters personality. Then, its alot easier to plot, plan, and write about them, even from a different, or main characters point of view.

  7. The great J-prime

    I usually get my ideas from the things I watch,play,or read but usually my ideas come to me with very little frustration i’m the kind of writer that mixes different stories together but change the main characters names and personalities.

  8. Jared

    I’m a writer that doesn’t like to write; I’d rather type.

    But if I have to write, (with a pencil…) I’d write an adventurous/comedy kind of story.

  9. Amanda

    My favorite place to write and draw is my desk because everything I need like pencils and crayons are all right there!

  10. Chelsea

    My place to write is my soft couch in my living room or on my bed. I have finished almost all of my books in either one of those places They are both very comfortable.

  11. Gillian

    im the kind of writer who doodles out characters and makes stories out of them. What can I say? i love art and writing, so i cant help but to make cool little stories out of my characters!

  12. Lax Girl

    When I write, I just get started and ideas just come to me. A lot of times, ideas for new stories and pieces of writing come to me when I am writing something totally different!

  13. Four

    I don’t usually write at home but if I do I like to write on my bed. I’m the type of writer who jumps straight into writing with very little planning.

  14. grace

    I am the type of writer that takes there time when writing a story or a book.When it comes to writing short things like a comment or a short story though, I will get right into it then later make sher that I revise very well.

  15. Lax Girl

    When I start to write, I usually already have a idea for what i’m writing. A lot of times I get ideas for new stories or other writing pieces when I’m writing something totally different!

  16. Master Chief

    I am the type of writer that when I write it usually has something to do with me, or relates to me. I do that also just to see how I’ve improved in my neatness, or just to see how my life is going. That’s really the type of writer I am

  17. Darth Paper

    I normally get my ideas from drawing pictures then deciding whether I can use use them in my writing. That sometimes spark other ideas, too.

  18. Kiara

    Hey Guys I am a 7th grader that was in Ms.Haseltine class last year. First you guys are so lucky to be iin her class last year i was so happy everyday because of English class. My favorite place to write isin my closet and in my room alone. And listening to music helps you should try it sometime!!!

  19. Kiara

    I am a fantasy and realistic fiction writer. Ifyou are not a writer give Ms.Haseltine a week then you will love writing .

  20. Chelsea

    I have a lot of ideas, but i’m that kind of person who needs every piece of writing to be perfect. So i’m the person who takes a lot of time. So? I don’t adore writing, but I write about my experiences and mostly something really random. As long as the topic is fun to me, I will write about it and enjoy it. It all depends on the topic in when I like to write. Ms. Haseltine already made writing FUN 🙂 to me! She is the best english teacher you could possibly have. THANK YOU MS. HASELTINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. colleenmilligan

    I love hearing what other writers do as they create their magic! Thanks to all for sharing! I prefer to get all my thoughts down on paper as soon as I can….don’t want to forget anything. Then, I go over what I’ve written again and again, until I feel it is just right….never finished…just right!

  22. Rachael

    Mrs.Haseltine,
    I have not found a place for writing, but I usually write either on the breakfast table, my room, or my bed. When it comes to writing stories on my own I jump right into the story. But if it is an essay, I always think before I write. I do not know, my mind just tells me to think more. When it comes to blog posts I jump right into making the blog post. I love to make short stories to represent what I feel like. But I dont show my short stories to anyone. I never write my plans on paper unles I am told to or I am writing in a journal/diary.Sometimes I look over my paper, but only if it is a grade. That is what I am as a writer

  23. Gracie

    Wow I can’t believe were blogging! I really liked making the big plans cards, it was really fun hearing everybody’s goals. I can’t wait to reach mine!!

  24. logan

    im on the computer at my dentist :D. I only like writting on a laptop i hate to write with my pencil becuase it hurts my hand

  25. piggies4ever

    I like writing a lot when I write about something I like, or when I write in my journal:) But if I am writing my favorite place would be in my kitchen on the desk. And usually when I write it is so peaceful and quiet!!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*