September 10 2013

We are readers

We’ve spent lots of time talking about books and reading these past few days. Some of my favorite memories (already) include: 

 

“Hey I thought I didn’t like reading!” exclaims a student.
 
I ask her, “And now?”
 
In a voice filled with disbelief she admits, “I like it. I really like it!” 
 
 
OR

 

a student coming in with props he’s made from Origami Yoda and Fortune Wookie

Origami Yoda   photo (5)

 
OR
 
“Hey, do you have those books? Can I read one of those?” (A student referring to the pictures on the classroom door. There are pictures of some of the books I read this summer.)
 

It’s only the second week of school and I’m so excited to already have some amazing reading memories. I can’t wait to see what’s ahead for us!

 

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted September 10, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category beginning of the year

2 thoughts on “We are readers

  1. mrsobrien17

    Cool props! The Origami Yoda series rocks! Did you share with the kids that you met the author at the library last summer?
    And your classroom door is FUN! I need to send my students over for some SOMEDAY LIST inspiration!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*