September 3 2013

First day of school

Can you find me? This is my sixth grade class.

Can you find me? This is my sixth grade class.

 

 

I’m trying to remember my first day of sixth grade in 1982. I attended Holy Cross School (a private, Catholic school) and Sr. Mary Lou was my English teacher. Even though I teach English today, I dreaded it in sixth grade. Can you guess my favorite subject? 

One thing I did love about sixth grade was going to the library. Sr. Helen was our librarian and the library was in the building next door to the school. We got to leave the school and go across the playground to the basement of that building to our library. I enjoyed that freedom. Sr. Helen recommended the best books and I always left with an armful.

I wonder what your memories of sixth grade will be when you look back. My hope is you will look back on our time together with laughter and lots of good memories. Let’s start those today!

 

Here I am in sixth grade, 1982.

Here I am in sixth grade, 1982.


Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted September 3, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category beginning of the year, class, My writing

1 thoughts on “First day of school

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*