June 26 2013

Happy Birthday Grammy

Quick write for Grammy’s birthday:
 
 Grammy and me
 
Sometimes I hear the voices talking over one another and the
laughter as we share our stories
Sometimes I see Grammy, standing by the stove,
stirring and talking and listening and being with her family 
Sometimes I still hear the chairs scraping on the linoleum floor as I
drag them from the basement for Sunday dinner  
Sometimes I smell the garlic and Aqua Net hairspray and Listerine mouthwash and I
smile…those smell like family, they smell like home
Sometimes I see the triangular slices of cheese sitting on the shelf
waiting for little hands to grab and smush and gobble it up
Sometimes I taste cucumber salad and meatballs and macaroni and chocolate cake with white frosting…made with love, just for me.
Sometimes I feel Grammy’s hand holding mine with love.
Sometimes
I wonder if Grammy still sees me today and
I wonder how she made the best meals and
I wonder if I’m anything like her and I wonder when I’ll see her again and
I wonder if I close my eyes really tight, maybe…just maybe I can still feel her holding my hand.
 
 
I love you!
Happy Birthday Grammy!
 
(Here’s a link to a short video of Papa talking about Grammy!)
 Papa talking about Grammy

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted June 26, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category family, quick write, summer, Teachers Write

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Grammy

  1. Rosemary

    When I think of your Grammy, it’s always about the food and her laughter. She was quick to laugh and Aunties always gave her something to laugh about!

  2. MS

    Hi Ms. Haseltine,

    It’s MS (remember me? 🙂 ) I got back from India yesterday, so I wasn’t able to check the blog. I have another book recommendation! Have you tried the Famous Five series by Enid Blyton, a British author? It’s an amazing mystery series where George, Anne, Dick, and Julian, and Timothy the dog go on many adventures. The first book is called “Five On A Treasure Island”.

  3. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Of course I remember you! How was your trip? If you want to write a book recommendation for that book, share a google doc with me and I’ll post it on our other blog! Welcome home!

  4. MS

    We had a great trip but we are very jet-lagged. I loved spending time with my family and friends there. We did lots of shopping! I will share a Google doc for a book recommendation, maybe later today. I am planning to read a lot this summer and I am working on a short story currently. How is your summer so far?

  5. Catherine @readingtothecore

    These are lovely memories, Michelle. Isn’t it fun to reminisce about family gatherings and special meals? Thanks for sharing!
    Catherine

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*