June 25 2013

Quick write…afternoon at the pool

Today our assignment was to write about a favorite place using sensory details. This is a rough and quickly written description of time at the pool. It doesn’t represent my best writing, but I wrote today and I do think with more time and revision, I could use this. Enjoy and thanks for reading!

 La Peyrecout - Swimming Pool towards Trees

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lapeyrecout/with/273120508/

Floating in the chlorine blue water, smelling the faux coconut of sunscreen and listening to the voices makes me smile. I’ve always been the first one into the water and the last one out. Swimming in the pool brings memories of family and happiness. Drippy watermelon and singed hot dogs feed my belly and the water hugging me feeds my soul. How is it that everything feels like it’s going to be ok while I’m floating in water? Water drowns my worry.

 

 

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted June 25, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category quick write, summer, Teachers Write

2 thoughts on “Quick write…afternoon at the pool

  1. Catherine @readingtothecore

    “Water drowns my worry.” I couldn’t agree more. Swimming is a balm for all our cares and woes. And while now I love swimming, my first experience in a pool wasn’t that great. Maybe I should write about it…

  2. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Thanks Catherine! Yes, please write about your first swimming experience. Now that you mention it, mine was filled with funny stories too. Hmmm, you’ve given me an idea! Thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*