April 2 2013

Poem #2 97 Years

Today my grandfather turns 97 years old. In honor of his birthday, I wrote this poem…

 

Today

my grandfather

 Papa

turns ninety-seven

Happy Birthday Papa!

 

Ninety-seven years-

Born in 

1916. 

 

Honest,

hard working,

faithful-

a family man.

 

Husband to Josie-

 

Father of

Michael

Mary

Mary Ann

Mary Jo…

Mary, Michael, Mary Ann, Mary Jo

 

Papa to-

Michelle

Kate

Noel

Danielle

 

Great grandfather

Pop Pop to-

Jack 

Jillian

 

Golfer

Reader

Music lover

Turnpike builder

 

Life long fan…

Red Sox

Celtics

Patriots

Big East sports


Proud

Sensitive

Storyteller

 

Once bought

gas on a road trip at

El Cheapo

(the nickname stuck)-

Forgot to bring his

teeth on a

trip to the

dentist-

Macaroni and meatballs,

every Sunday, every holiday!

Elks Club member-

Feeling ill, West Nile?!

Misses Grammy everyday-

 

Papa

filled with

love

faith

history

 

Happy Birthday, Papa!

We love you!

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted April 2, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category family, National Poetry Month, slice of life challenge

15 thoughts on “Poem #2 97 Years

  1. Amy Rudd

    Happy Birthday! Will you get to celebrate with him? What a special poem! You should print out and frame it as a gift !

  2. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Thanks Amy! No, he’s in Massachusetts and I live in Virginia. I’m hoping my mom or aunts read it to him today.

  3. rebekah

    I was so tired this morning and i didn’t want to go to school but now that i am at school i feel okay to be back at school. Can’t wait to see what seat i am in in english!!!!!!!

    P.S. thank you ms. ahaseltine for being my english teacher your a great one!!!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. Paravi

    What you need for life
    An eraser to erase your mistakes,
    A pencil to start anew,
    A marble to keep to show to people who say you have lost your marbles,
    A dime so you are never broke.
    I hope you like it Ms. Haseltine! This is not my poem but my BFF in Ohio sent it to me along with an eraser, a pencil📝, a marble, and a dime💰 I think she made it up but I am not sure. I will show you the bag tomorrow! Isn’t it cool?

  5. Rebekah

    My great grandma died on march 27 2013 so last Wednesday so i am going to write a poem about her:

    pretty woman
    loves Christ
    loves everyone
    makes friends everywhere

    “Come talk with me”
    she would say
    I love you
    loves to tell others about Christ

    The loving heart filling Louise Stewart Smith is now in heaven

  6. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Rebekah, This is a beautiful and heartfelt poem. I love it. Thank you for sharing. I’m so sorry for your loss. She sounds like an amazing woman.

  7. Wardah

    Aww that’s such sweet poem. In my family my mom’s mom & my dad’s mom share the same birthday. New Years!!!!

  8. MS

    I love your poem Ms. Haseltine!! Sadly, my grandpa passed away when I was 3-4 years old. 🙁 Even though I was very young then, I can still remember some of the great times we had together and I still miss him.

    Paravi, I like your poem too! If I remember right, one of my BFFs (I wrote about her a few days ago) was asked to bring in all that stuff and more on the first day of school one year! Here’s most of what she was asked to bring (some of it’s the same as yours):

    an eraser to remind us to fix our mistakes,
    a pencil to remind us to always have a sharp mind,
    a rubber band to remind us to always stretch our brains,
    a paper bag with all this in it, because inside, we are all the same

    There was also some sort of money and something to do with reading, but I don’t remember the reasons why.

  9. Jonathan

    Your papa sounds like my grandpa honest, hardworking, and is a storyteller,except for one thing he likes the Yankees, enough said. now maybe you could tell me why you would pick the nickname “el cheapo”.

  10. isabel

    I grandfather sounds very sweet. It was very nice of you to have written the poem about him. I hope he read it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*