March 27 2013

Slice #27 What do you believe in?

What do I believe in?

 

I believe in hard work

I believe in telling the truth…

even when it’s hard-

I believe in words

to heal, to learn, to soothe-

I believe in music

to move me, to lift me up-

I believe that reading

makes me smarter & more compassionate-

I believe in writing:

that’s where I figure out life-

I believe in standing up for others

when they can’t stand up for themselves!

I believe in equal rights for all

 

I believe in listening more and talking less

(I don’t always do that)

I believe that hugs and lip balm and marshmallows

make everything better

I believe that glitter and bacon and just the right pen

can make all right with the world-

I believe in my dog

and the conversations we have,

I believe in family

loud, boisterous, loving family-

I believe in traditions and rituals

Sunday dinners, beach vacations, and loving no matter what…

I believe in swinging high on the swings and

yelling WHEEEE while riding the waves in the ocean-

I believe in friends

laughing and crying together, and endless conversations

I believe in acceptance more than being right

I believe in apologies

I believe in love!

 

What do you believe in?

 

Tags:
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.

Posted March 27, 2013 by Ms. Haseltine in category slice of life challenge

43 thoughts on “Slice #27 What do you believe in?

  1. Chris H.

    I believe in almost exactly the same things as you. I also believe in reading to teach me compassion and to broaden my horizons. I believe in falling into bed next to my husband and dog, sleeping peacefully all snuggled up–that is the best way to end and begin each day. I believe in the smiles and laughter of my children. They make everything worthwhile just by existing. This is fun!

  2. Kiara

    I believe in competition
    I believe in miracles
    I believe that there are no mistakes only to show what not to do
    I believe that singing is the best way to make a story without writing
    I believe I have finished my third book

  3. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Hahaha! Kiara, I LOVE the last line! Hahahaha!! Good one! 🙂
    (I’m almost done with my third book.)

  4. anita ferreri

    This is just absolutley lovely. I share your list – and love that you put LOVE at the end. It makes it all work best!

  5. Bev

    Love your list! What a wonderful way to express all that you believe in – will definitely need to do this! (I agree with most of yours)

  6. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Thanks Lee Ann! The glitter and bacon line was inspired by my three year old niece and my best friend. 🙂

  7. Paravi

    I believe in friendship and how with just the right person, everything is better,
    I believe in hope because it pulls us through tough times,
    I believe in miracles and the happiness and smiles they bring,
    I believe in love because everyone needs some,
    I believe in me.
    I hope you liked the poem Ms. Haseltine! I FINALLY slept in today for the first time this whole Spring Break! Crazy, right? I feel very happy today because a bunch of my friends called me yesterday at basically the same time to hang out! I am going to be with MS then Rachel is coming, then one day I am having a sleepover with Courtney and am going to be hanging out with Kiara. I am not saying dates for you stalkers out there😛. Every one wanted to hang out with me! 💜💕FEEL THE LOVE!!! 💕💜

  8. Paravi

    WOAH! I JUST REALIZED I POSTED THAT COMMENT EXACTLY ONE HOUR LATER THAN THE LAST COMMENT! I MUST BE SYCIC! I MEAN PSYCIC OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT! 🔮😛😋

  9. noelle:)

    I believe in a lot of things like friendships, family time, and yes, marshmallows. Ms. Haseltine, Rebekah and I were wondering if we could sit next to each other for 4th quarter. Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssssseeeeeeeeee????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂
    rebekah and I are having tons of fffffffffffuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    see you soon!

  10. Paravi

    I forgot, I LOVE your poem Ms. Haseltine…I like glitter and bacon too…it kind of describes my life. 😜😝😛😋🍳(I don’t have a picture of bacon so I settled for eggs) HA HA HA HA HA!

  11. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Hmmmmm, I can’t make any promises about seats. Tell Rebekah I got her comment too. 🙂

  12. Abigayle

    Ahhhhh I keep forgetting to post on the blog. My sister got a sniffle and now she is wheezing in her lungs. I went to the beach and to the pool I have been having so much fun I won’t get the prize at the end of the month though because I keep forgetting to post. 😭 Oh well I had a good time doing it. 😉

  13. Paravi and MS

    Paravi: Hey Ms. Haseltine! MS and I are hanging out. I forgot to tell you, my brother’s band WON THE BATTLE OF THE BANDS CONTEST! It was just a few days ago! I was SO excited! His band is called The Royal Thieves, or TRT for short. They were also spoken about from a RECORD LABEL! I know this because I was eaves dropping on them. 😛 It specifically said “Check out the new Virgina band TRT!” Ok, now to MS!
    MS: Ms. Haseltine, I 💜your poem! I am at Paravi’s house (she says she is awesome. Well, SO AM I!!!!!!! :-)) Paravi says my smiley has a double chin! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! This has been a very fun spring break for me, unlike spring break in third grade. I had the stomach bug for the whole
    Paravi: OK back to me! I got a CUTE new top from Diya’s mom! She is a good clothes shopper,! (I asked my mom if we could invite her for Christmas because of that) 😋😜😛😐😝😧😔😔😉😡😎😓😄😧😶😆😌👷😬😦👮😤😕😆😵👦😡😋😟😬😠😶😋😴😦😛😳😗😞😜😗😂😗😝😧I AM BORED…sorry MS.

  14. Paravi and MS

    MS: So, as I was saying, in third grade I had the stomach bug for the whole spring break. 😧 It really sucked.

  15. Will R

    I really like that poem Ms. Haseltine. I believe in four things:
    God
    My family
    My friends
    Boston

    I believe in other things, but mainly those four. I belive in Boston and their teams. The other three things most people belive in.

  16. Kiara

    I just came back from lunch w my cousin who is pregnant and I and Lucia came up with boy and girl names she know about this blog so if you come up with any names please tell me.

    BOY Girl
    Damian I forgot

  17. Natalie

    I believe on friendship
    I believe in miracles
    I believe in love
    I believe that school is important
    I believe in family
    I believe that reading and writing make things better
    I believe that getting crushed by waves are fun
    I believe in beautiful days

  18. mshaseltine (Post author)

    You’re still posting. I’m glad you are. I hope your sister gets better and you stay healthy.

  19. mshaseltine (Post author)

    Well written, Will. How could I forget Boston? I’ll need to add that. Thanks. Hope you’re having fun.

  20. Grace

    I believe that being nice to someone can change your day.
    I believe in friendship and my crazy but dependable friends.
    I believe that all my family needs to bbe cheered up, is a funny picture taken on a ride in Hershey’s Chocolate World.
    I also believe in my family.
    I believe that a smile is worth a thousand words, and that the more you smile the better you feel.

  21. MS

    In my earlier comment with Paravi, there was supposed to be a heart. (I love your poem, Ms. Haseltine).

    Here’s my version of your poem.

    I believe that reading takes you places,
    Places that you can’t visit otherwise.
    I believe that a good laugh can brighten anyone’s day.
    I believe that everything is fun, it just depends on how you think about it.
    I believe that the right environment can just make everything seem great.
    I believe that even the smallest things matter.
    I believe that oxygen will keep me alive.

    I believe in my family and friends.
    I believe in perseverance.
    I believe in love and happiness because you can’t live without them.
    I believe in being open-minded and willing to accept something even if it’s not your own.
    I believe in hope because it makes you stronger.
    I believe in miracles and smiles because they seem to make everything better.
    I believe in ME!!!

  22. Rachel L.

    I’m so happy, even though today was tiring and hard work with the horses it was still so much fun, plus I perfected my posting!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 :0 :0 :0 :p :p :p :p :p

  23. Lipika

    My cousins left today so I am bored and really sad! 🙁 I really had a fun time with them and know they are gone. 🙁
    I belive that family can change you and your whole world.
    I belive that the power of love is one of the most things in the world!
    I belive Education is the key to everything beyond you!
    I belive whatever is around me is where I belong!

  24. Beth Rogers

    Love your poem. I must show it to my students tomorrow. I know they will be inspired!

  25. Leona

    I believe in everything that comes my way
    I believe that everything happens for a reason
    I believe that life is a journey with lots of obstacles,
    Yet we always find a way to pass them

  26. Leah

    There’s nothing to do today, but tomorrow I’m going to Delaware to visit my grandparents.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*